WHILE autumn/winter styles might look fresh and new to us as they begin to hit the stores, for the designers – now preparing for spring/summer 2011 – it all seems like a very long time ago.

“Like years ago, it’s very strange and now we’re almost off to New York, which will be jolly nice,” says designer Peter Jensen who, for his last collection was inspired by Muriel Spark and her 1961-published novel The Prime of Miss Jean Brodie

But what about this season’s upcoming collection?

“Well, I don’t want to say who the muse is because I think it is good to keep something to yourself – but she is a she and she was most definitely famous in the Seventies and she was/is a filmstar,” Jensen tells us.

So aside from creating a new collection – and a fashion version of Guess Who in the process – what else has the designer been up to over the summer?

“I did go and see my mum which was really good and I did go on a picnic with my friends Tim and Jacob and their dog, Stig. I wish I was one of those people who could say they went to the beach, reading Philip Larkin or James Joyce, but I do love going to Kenwood House or the theatre.”

And if he were one of those people on the beach enjoying a sunny day, what would be his ice cream of choice?

“Tesco’s orange ice lolly – it smells and tastes of summer,” he says.

