MARC JACOBS has opened his first book store, Bookmarc, in New York’s trendy Bleecker Street. The shop will sell art and photography books alongside vinyl records, Marc Jacobs notebooks, pencils, pens and CD’s.

“We’ve developed a very big business in books. It’s more art books, it’s more photography books, and then it’s very personal to the company,” Robert Duffy tells WWD. “We have the luxury of picking somebody and commissioning something. I can ask one of the artists that I work with to together make a book.”

Bookmarc is the sixth Marc Jacobs addition to the West Village area.

“Is it good for the neighbourhood, bad for the neighbourhood? I don’t know,” says Duffy. “My original store was a dentist office that was in terrible disrepair – I did my research. I found the original pictures of that store from 18-whatever, and I put in big plateglass windows, which were there in 18-whatever. Did it revitalise the street in a way? Did it make it a shopping street in a way? I didn’t ask everybody else to follow me there.”

