ZAC POSEN is working hard in the run up to Fashion Week.

“It’s a bit like a marathon at the moment,” he tells us. “The only time I can be alone in my studio is from 12 – 3.30am so I’m always at work then. I’m pretty tired but any time you can make to create is beautiful. There’s nothing higher than creative time.”

With two collections to create, for Z Spoke and his mainline range, and two shows to organise, Posen describes this period as “the most ambitious thing my company has ever done”. How is he managing to juggle both?

“My stylist is my boyfriend so that helps,” he says, “I also work with my family which I love. It’s very challenging but those magic moments make it all worth it. I’m not interested in the chic banal.”

His mainline collection will be a sartorial fashion feast. Posen is set to fill the show space with perfume, while his models will walk the runway to a live performance by the MisShapes. He has also collaborated with illustrator Daisy de Villeneuve, who is designing prints for Z Spoke.

“There will be a lot of what I’m calling sex dresses,” he reveals. “I’ve made a lot of pieces that can seduce and that will secure the deal. The dresses will be iconic, architectural and anatomical. We want to be the go-to destination for when women want to feel hot to trot. I want the same dialogue that Christian Louboutin has with his women.”

Despite the difficulties in producing two separate shows, Posen believes Collection and Z Spoke are the perfect way of fully utilising his design skills.

“It’s such a good way of using my 10 years of design experience and I apply different skills to each line,” he says. “They appeal to two separate sides of my personality. High fashion is looking to the street for design inspiration so I need to be creating the same dialogue with those people, which is what I’m doing with Z Spoke. You need polar extremes in fashion, of high and lower ends, and they need to share the same dialogue and be on the wavelength.”

What will his Z Spoke line bring to the Paris fashion world?

“Youth, sexuality and experimentation – it’s time for Paris to have those things,” he tells us.

What is his fashion week survival must-have?

“I drink a lot of green tea balanced with coffee and eat a lot of avocados. I also do lots of deep breathing and I make sure I do 15 minutes of yoga every morning.”

