HUSSEIN CHALAYAN describes buyers as the fashion industry’s “biggest problem”.

“Buyers are so disloyal,” he says. “They want to be pop stars themselves and, in my opinion they need to take more responsibility. We do have some loyal buyers but generally most people aren’t responsible enough. They don’t grow with their designers – they’re just interested in new designers all the time and then you can’t grow because they’re onto the next person and you get dropped. We work with people who have been loyal to us but really they’re a minority.”

Talking at the launch of his new exhibition B-Side, now on show at Spring Studios, Chalayan spoke of the importance of film in his work.

“Film is really an extension of my world,” he tells us. “It’s an environment where you can control the choreography, the sound and how they all inter-relate. Film has been a natural step for me because I work as an artist and a designer – this has been part of my natural evolution. This medium suits me.”

Does he have a career goal?

“Stability – the fashion industry is so difficult and so disloyal – it’s really inhuman. If I can humanise and stabilise my fashion activity then I would be very happy. I’m not really part of the usual discourse and so I think if I can stabilise things on my own and take my own lead, I’d be very happy.”

B-Side is open now until October 23 at Spring Studios, Spring House, 10 Spring Place, London, NW5 3BH. For more information please go to www.springprojects.co.uk.

