MICHAEL VAN DER HAM has a new customer in mind for his forthcoming spring/summer collection.

“Some things should be kept a secret but what I will say is that I think my next collection will appeal to a wider group of women,” he says. “Last season it was quite specific in terms of customers who bought it. I think what I’m working on at the moment will appeal to a much broader age range.”

Van der Ham is also getting excited about the new Topshop show space, now held at the old Eurostar terminal in Waterloo.

“It’s going to look amazing,” he says. “I can’t say much but we’ll be making the most of that space.”

Michael, who is currently stocked at Liberty, thinks handling all his buying enquiries personally is key to stockist success.

“I just think that no one can sell my clothes like I can,” he says. “I know the collection inside out and I like to be able communicate my message personally to buyers. I’m hoping that this next collection will appeal to a few more places.”