ROLAND MOURET says the secret to his popularity is simple.

“Women who wear my dresses look good in them,” he tells us. “I don’t know why [my designs] have been so successful but women love them and that is very important to me and it’s all that matters.”

Talking at the launch of Harrods and Rankin’s new coffee table book 21st Century Couture, Mouret revealed couture is a constant source of inspiration.

“Couture is still so important to fashion,” he says. “Watching the world of couture is like being in a family –  you don’t have to do everything your family does but you can take a lot you can take from them.”

Would he ever consider launching a couture line himself?

“No it is not for me,” he says. “I prefer ready-to-wear, there is space for both but for me I want to carry on designing my lady dresses.”

