ROKSANDA ILINCIC says she thinks motherhood has made her more efficient. Ilincic gave birth to her daughter Elfimia in August, just six weeks before her spring/summer 2011 catwalk show.

“Once you get back to work, you manage to do things more quickly,” she says. “I’m much more focused – you can’t extend your day when you have to be home to put the baby to bed. My priority was not to jeopardise her [Elfimia]. I was lucky to have an easy birth. If it wasn’t working for her, I would have cancelled the show but she’s an easy, mellow baby. That made it possible.”

Ilincic refused to let becoming a mother stop her from working.

“I’d been building my label for so long, I didn’t want to let go,” she tells Sunday Times Style. “I planned my work well: I started the collection early, so I was 90 per cent finished before I stopped working. Unless you keep your own life, sooner or later you will end up unhappy; you lose sense of your purpose.”

