WILLIAM TEMPEST earned himself another fashion fan over the weekend as singer Rihanna took to the X Factor stage dressed in one of his spring/summer 2011 creations.
 
“Rihanna was wearing the Oyster dress. It was inspired by giant clam shells and is made in a velvet devore. She made the dress work with her own unique style, which is great,” Tempest tells us. “I loved how she looked quite girly and playful with the pale pink colour of the dress and the flowers in her hair, but she mixed it with black boots to give it a harder edge.”
 
Did he know that come Sunday evening she’d be dancing the Halloween night away in it, and performing amid a food fight?
 
“You never really know if a garment will definitely be worn as there are so many determining factors and there is just so much choice for people like Rihanna. When designing the dress, though, I did feel that Rihanna would be an amazing person to wear it,” says Tempest.
 
And was he worried about it getting ruined by all the flying food?
 
“Not at all. At the end of the day, they are only dresses and can always be dry-cleaned!”
 
And it seems that the world of fashion is keeping Rihanna even busier of late – the singer has a new perfume due out in the spring, followed by a clothes range.
 
“I’ve been doing a lot of research into fashion. I should have a range already, but I’m stubborn. Lots of companies want to stick my name on a range and hand me a big cheque. But if it’s my name on it, it should be me designing it,” she tells The Sunday Times’ Culture magazine.

